It’s Too Damn Startling #5!

I’ve just uploaded the 5th edition of “It’s Too Damn Startling,” my regular contribution to Tony Youngblood’s ~ORE~ Theatre Intangible radio show. You’ll definitely want to grab this one!

Going into my fifth edition, I decided that I really didn’t want to work with a lot of materials. I’d had a conversation with fellow WDBX-FM deejay Nick last night regarding my microsound leanings, and of my own temptations about working ever deeper within the waveform.

Of course, I’ve also been doing a fair amount of thinking about Stockhausen, as I have been taking a more active approach to hear many of his works of which I am unfamiliar. I decided to take a very small sample of one of Stockhausen’s works, and use it as the basis of a larger piece.

Following this rather vague plan, I ended up using a little less than two one-hundredths of a second of Stockhausen’s “Helikopter Streichquartett” as the sound source for a 3′ 33″ work of pulsing, chattering sound evolution. I’m quite pleased with it, and hope you will be as well.

You can hear “It’s Too Damn Startling #5″ when today’s broadcast airs live from 2-4 AM, this December 23 on WRVU-FM. However, if you have plans to be handcuffed and left for dead during this time, you may download It’s Too Damn Startling #5 at your convenience upon rescue.

Enjoy!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers