Auto-art with Wordle

I can’t seem to leave Wordle alone, it’s just way too much fun. I have now discovered a really fun way to make automatic art with Wordle– I’m re-entering my old Wordles back into the generator!

To accomplish the process, I start with one of my prior Wordles, captured as a jpeg. For my first, I used the multi-year playlist Wordle I posted in my last entry. Then I uploaded this Wordle-become-jpeg to an ASCII art generator online, and copied the resulting mess of text. This is what I got:

Obviously, I was pleased as punch. Damn, it looks like an undiscovered John Cage score! As you may have guessed, I then decided to turn the process into a loop, capturing this Wordle as a jpeg and re-upping it to the ASCII art generator. Then– back into the Wordle generator! Here are the next four generations of my auto-art, which Wordle creator Jonathan Feinberg, has pronounced “insane.” Given his obvious love of typefaces, I think that’s a compliment.

You’ll definitely want to click these for the full-size versions.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Auto-art with Wordle”

  1. Jonathan Feinberg Says:

    Yes, meant as a compliment.

  2. Jake Says:

    Awesome!

  3. Interview with DaveX, director of the Southern Illinois Noise Summit & host of Sounds Like Radio » Theatre Intangible Says:

    [...] everything; like I said, it helped me think about other ideas more clearly. Try it with anything!  Look at my auto-art with the Wordle program.   That’s basically circuit-bending, if you take it outside a circuit. I’m using [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers