“Vietnam” flyer controversy, pt. 2

dsc00126
Remember my “Vietnam” flyer that created a tiff around WDBX? It was getting more page views than my blog, so I took it down out of jealousy– but seriously, it was the flyer that refused to die, and my Negativland-lovin’ heart couldn’t let something this absurd go to waste without a decent response.

But first, here’s the terrible flyer that started it all. I can’t remember who sent me this art, as I receive a good number of promotional mailers filled with all sorts of odd enclosed items.

I know, it’s awful. You can see where the devil himself put colored Sharpie markers in my hand to brighten things up and encode my foul message at the bottom. And the graphic depiction of violence! It truly brings home the reality of war, and the terror of conflict. Then again, I’ve seen worse on Tom & Jerry cartoons.

I already told you about the inital response to this, but here’s a snapshot of the final commentary. I think it’s an interesting text-portrait of the diversity of opinion around the station. Be sure to view it full-size.

dsc00127

But as I mentioned, I wanted to whip up a response. I’ve always believed that silly nonsense should be fought with equally silly nonsense. It puts such arguments in their rightful place, and can be fairly humorous besides. Here’s my final comment on the subject, a parody of the famous Alfred Eisenstaedt photo taken on V-Day. I’m not sure if Malty looks like a willing participant, though!

loves-vets

3 Responses to ““Vietnam” flyer controversy, pt. 2”

  1. “Vietnam” flyer controversy, pt.3 « Startling Moniker Says:

    […] Startling Moniker Music reviews and sound-related thoughts from DaveX « “Vietnam” flyer controversy, pt. 2 […]

  2. NICK Says:

    That sir, is the sexiest fucking cow I have ever seen.
    America should be proud for producing this cow. And veterans should be proud of fighting for our right to mock them and their pain.

  3. WDBX History, pt.2 « Startling Moniker Says:

    […] them. Remember my “Vietnam” flyer that ended up with me in the New York Times? (also here, and here) Well, goofy trouble was brewing back in June of ‘97, and over a plant, no less! […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers