I’m starting a new broadcast!

After years of personal consideration, I’m starting another broadcast. As of Friday, I’m an official host at WSIU-FM, a public radio station broadcasting from the Southern Illinois University campus.

But don’t worry; I’m not leaving WDBX-FM, or canceling “It’s Too Damn Early.” My plan is to continue my current Saturday morning broadcast, as well as host a separate 2-hour broadcast at WSIU-FM on Sunday mornings. Both broadcasts will feature experimental and avant-garde music, sound art, and difficult listening– with no repetition between the two.

Since I’ve told you so much about WDBX in the past, I figure it’s only proper to introduce WSIU as best as I can. WSIU is a non-commercial station, and our local public radio broadcaster. They have programming from NPR, PRI, and some locally-produced shows as well. If you’re a fan of Celtic music, you may have heard “Celtic Connections,” which is carried in syndication on dozens of public radio affiliates across the United States.

Whereas WDBX currently broadcasts at 3000 watts, WSIU is at 50,000 watts. To make things even more fun, WSIU employs two “repeater” transmissions in Mt. Vernon and Olney for a total of 88,000 watts. As I understand it, this not only covers the lower-third of Illinois, but parts of Missouri and Indiana as well! Obviously, this will be a much larger listening audience, so I’m very excited. For those outside the broadcast area, WSIU streams online– and I have been told that archiving shows is a distinct possibility.

Quite possibly, this will be the largest broadcast of experimental music anywhere in the state; it will certainly make Southern Illinois a prime destination for sound artists, experimental musicians, and composers of new music.

For now, I’ll be working on getting the first few broadcasts ready, and checking my WSIU mailbox for the first promos I hope everyone will be able to send my way. If all goes well, the show will most likely be launching in early April, so send some music in!

Here’s my address at the station:

WSIU-FM, c/o Dave Armstrong
Communications Building 1003, Mail Code 6602
SIUC, 1100 Lincoln Dr.
Carbondale, IL 62901 USA

Tags:

2 Responses to “I’m starting a new broadcast!”

  1. Har$ Says:

    Congrats, Dave! Great! Both for you AND the music :-)

    H

  2. Dennis Poitras Says:

    Sounds like a great opportunity! Reverb Nation has lots of my tunes on it. There are many styles, vocal and instrumental to choose from. I think you’ll be inspired and, in turn, you’ll be able to inspire your listeners.
    Sincerely, Den Poitras.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers