“It’s Too Damn Early” is now… “Music For Swimmers”

With the move to the new 5-6pm show time, I realized that “It’s Too Damn Early” was no longer an appropriate name for my show. So, while my focus on experimental music, the avant-garde, sound art, and noise has not changed– the name has!

Say hello to “Music For Swimmers.”

I love picking out names for things. This time around, I looked to John Cage for inspiration, and found it in one of his many stories– in this case, one that was included on his Folkways recording with David Tudor, “Indeterminacy.” I’ve reproduced a screen capture from an online archive of the stories below, though I hope that you’ll check out the other stories as well. I’m not sure how the name works out if you think about it too hard, but I enjoyed the absurdity– a program of music for people who aren’t listening? Electrical devices in a marine environment? I suspect that “Music For Swimmers” will find its meaning with time. Until then, I’m looking forward to spending that time listening and staying afloat with you. –DaveX

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers