Culture Jamming

Ever since I was young, I have enjoyed tinkering with things. Until a friend hipped me to Negativland in college, I didn’t know that my pasttime of screwing around with advertisments, menus, bumper stickers, and the like actually had a name– “culture jamming.”

While some folks have a political bent to their antics, or seek out work on a large scale (read: billboards, high-traffic websites), mine has generally been confined to immediate tasks on hand. Bumper stickers are a perennial favorite, as are food labels, and moveable letter “today’s menu” boards. Rearranging the letters to spell disgusting entrees, snarky comments, and the occasional pun are ever so much more fun for me.

Browsing WFMU’s “Beware of the Blog,” I read an entry about the list of “gay bands” being compiled at Love God’s Way Ministries, one of those fundamentalist bozo networks of intolerant people; America Al Qaeda, really. I was struck by the goofy “hand in a heart” logo of the website– a really simple logo to mess with. Turning the hand over could make it easily look more like a “seig heil” than a hand offering something. Twenty minutes later, I had Photoshopped a little remix of the original. I offer it to you for fun. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Culture Jamming”

  1. Jessica Says:

    I definitely agree that working on a smaller more intimate scale than billboards is a much more effective form of anti-advertising. Do you just alter things on your own, or are you a shopdropper? I just saw this video, even if you’re sole interest is in alterations, I think it would really interest you: http://travelistic.com/video/show/2369

  2. startlingmoniker Says:

    I haven’t tried the shopdropping before, no. It DOES seem interested, especially the part about trying to connect people to the origin of the goods. For myself, I rarely have an actual message as much as I enjoy the transformation process and the “huh, what?” awakening that people experience when they see these sorts of things.

Leave a Reply

