It’s that time again!

Long-time fans of “It’s Too Damn Early” will know what I’m writing about– membership drive time at WDBX-FM!

On my upcoming broadcast, September 8th, I will be kicking off the WDBX Fall Membership Drive; which basically means that it’s a great time for you to send us a little money. As in the past, I may have a random bit of schwag for those who make a pledge– my policy has always been to surprise folks, though, and never to promise a schwag-for-pledge trade.

I reward generosity, not cunning.

Last I checked, fully two-thirds of the WDBX yearly operating budget came from memberships, so it is very important for you to be part of this drive. At the very least, I want you to call in to let me know you enjoy the show. (618) 457-3691

It’s amazing that radio stations like WDBX even exist, when you think about it– I air about 60 seconds worth of “announcements” every half-hour, with half of this usually promoting another WDBX show. I’m free to play practically anything I want, and I am given total control over the format and structure of the show itself.

In short, I am free to bring you the best experimental programming I possibly can every week of the year; usually with liveblogged commentary, a webstream, and a downloadable show! All I ask is that you help out in some small way once a year– $10 is great, but so is a stack of CDRs, a bundle of ‘zines, a tip-off about a new label, or your promise that you’ll get some friends to listen in the next few months.

Call in this Saturday morning, August 11, from 4-6:30 a.m., and let me know how you can help. I’d really appreciate it, and so will everyone at WDBX. (618) 457-3691

Oddly enough, the membership drive coincides with the second of my two ALL-NOISE broadcasts. Last week’s was structured in very long layers– this week’s will be all about stops and starts, necessitated by the structure of the drive itself. Should be interesting, to say the least!

Thanks! –DaveX

Leave a Reply

