MediaDefender Remix Contest Winners!

Well, I guess it’s time to finish the MediaDefender Remix Contest, and announce the winners. For those of you who are a little slow, I started a somewhat ill-defined competition for folks willing to use the “approved” MediaDefender techniques for destroying mp3s to remix popular tracks. To kick things off, I shared my re-working of Britney Spears’ “Gimmie More,” which I love more and more each time I hear it. I’m very happy to say that my remix was downloaded well over 3000 times, with a big boost from a BoingBoing post alerting more than 5000 people to visit STARTLING MONIKER.

zomgyouwin.jpg

It’s been 50 days since then, and even though I consider you ALL winners, I’m not mailing free stuff to everyone. So here goes:

In first place, with a simply amazing 20-minute remix/sound collage, is %20. Seriously, you just have to hear this. I e-mailed to let him know about his win, and he tried to weasel out and accept an honorable mention. While I completely acknowledge his right to decline the prize, I have to put my foot down as blog owner and call it like I see it. %20– you win, but I’m passing your prize to the second place winner, Pimp Daddy Supreme!

Mr. PDS is a fellow vinyl junkie, and turned in a damn fine remix of Soulja Boy’s ubiquitous pile of steaming pidgin English ala JarJar Binks. This is a song that had to be destroyed for the good of all mankind, truly making Pimp Daddy Supreme a spiritual member of the Greatest Generation. Plus, let’s be straight– it couldn’t have been easy making this track sound like any more of a cut-up mess.

For his efforts, Pimp Daddy Supreme will be receiving a copy of SaraLunden, Kyrre Björkås, and Andreas Mjös’ new EP “Dubious;” the first release from Ukraine-based label Nexsound PQP!

In third place (or last, if you’re being negative) is PWN3D-3M41LZ, kicking poor Britney while she’s down. Even though he won’t be receiving anything cool from me in the mail, I have to hand it to PWN3D-3M41LZ– you’re among the elite who actually got off their ass and tried doing something– my hat’s off to you!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

