DaveX on Nashville’s WRVU-FM!

As you may recall, I was invited by WRVU-FM host Tony Youngblood to contribute a regular feature to his experimental program ~ORE~ Theatre Intangible. I finally got around to actually following through on this, and have whipped up a 10-minute mix worthy of Commodore Vanderbilt himself.

itds_logo.jpg

This recurring feature, which I’m calling “It’s Too Damn Startling!” for lack of a better name, will center around a single theme or idea related to experimental music. This first instance was inspired by a recent e-mail exchange with School of the Art Institute of Chicago professor Eric Leonardson. In response to my questions about the nature of his “Locofone” broadcast, he said:“I’ve been touting the idea of radio as a medium better for ‘evoking the imagination’ than providing “information”.

Leonardson’s take on radio is very similar to how I approach my own show– less a clearinghouse for music trivia or hits, and more of an opportunity to bewilder and inspire.

Too many words hasten failure
Cannot compare to keeping quiet”

-Tao Te Ching, translated by Derek Lin

I am making this first edition of “It’s Too Damn Startling!” available for download, but I highly encourage you to hear it in it’s natural environment as well. ~ORE~ airs this morning, from 2 a.m. until 4 a.m., CST. Enjoy it live, or check the archived stream later on. Regardless, enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “DaveX on Nashville’s WRVU-FM!”

  1. NoRegrets Says:

    I will go listen later. Came here through Fringes/Q site. Currently listening to http://www.wfmu.org. I’m not sure what experimental music is… but will look. gotta go eat breakfast right now.

  2. Liveblogging! Commentary for “ITDE” 11/24/07 « Startling Moniker Says:

    […] have more of it for you next week. Don’t be surprised if some Rothkamm makes its way into my “It’s Too Damn Startling!” contribution to tonight’s broadcast of WRVU-FM’s “~Ore Theatre […]

  3. DaveX apparently has abandonment issues « Startling Moniker Says:

    […] ongoing series of short experimental mixes for this incarnation of ~ORE~. This has resulted in my “It’s Too Damn Startling” mix series, the latest of which was broadcast during Tony’s 11/25/07 […]

  4. It’s Too Damn Startling #3! « Startling Moniker Says:

    […] Too Damn Startling #3! I’ve uploaded the third edition of “It’s Too Damn Startling,” my small contribution to Tony Youngblood’s ~ORE~ Theatre Intangible radio show.  This week, the […]

Leave a Reply

