“The Optimod, the Transmitter, and the Danube”

Sound and vision collide in odd ways during my show. Here’s our Optimod 8000, a piece of vintage sound processing equipment circa 1975. Probably not what you’d find at one of those slick corporate broadcasters’ studios– but it’s part of the chain that gets my show out on the airwaves, so I’m not complaining.

Anyways, from this vantage point you get a blend of the transmitter and cooling noise; Annea Lockwood’s “Sound Map of the Danube;” and the mini lightshow provided by the Optimod.

One Response to ““The Optimod, the Transmitter, and the Danube””

  1. Liveblogging! Commentary for “ITDE” 4/4/08 « Startling Moniker Says:

    […] Last week’s Optimod video led me to chatting online with a sound engineer who was pleased to find Brekekekexkoaxkoax in my playlists– if only due to the Greek origin of the name. Still, he was super-enthused about checking out Josh Ronsen’s work, and recommended more Iannis Xenakis in my diet. I have to say that I agree with him! A cursory check of Xenakis’s recorded history revealed loads of material I’ve not yet heard. Perhaps this will be reflected sometime next month after I get my footing. Anyways, isn’t the net great? […]

Leave a Reply

