John Cage Demands It!

There’s been a bit of fuss amongst WordPress bloggers about a surprise new feature added recently– the “possibly related blog posts” thing that is now dangling at the end of some of my entries. So far, it seems to be a goofy extra that mostly tries to direct readers to my own pages, which may be a sign that I’m the only person who writes about this sort of stuff!

I decided to scroll back through my entries to see if there were any useful links I would have made myself, and really didn’t find anything too mind-blowing. If anything, the whole process got me thinking about how fun it would be to have a random link generator for my own site…

Luckily, one already exists. As I gather, it was released as something of a secret, and probably as more of a curiosity than anything. Clicking on it will take you to a random Startling Moniker entry, and you’ll find it in the sidebar, titled “John Cage Demands It!”

Feel free to click the above link, or its sidebar doppelganger.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “John Cage Demands It!”

  1. Karthik Says:

    Heh, apparently the “possibly related posts” has decided to spite you for your observation.

    In a world where large numbers of people use things like Digg, del.icio.us, and Stumbleupon (I can’t claim that I don’t from time to time), randomly generated link predictions seem to be quite the amusement in tooling around the web when productivity simply won’t do.

Leave a Reply

