Saved by a meme!

T’was a looking like a slow day for me, with nary a blog entry in sight– but Caleb Dupree put some wind in my sails with a hearty meme tagging. Here are the rules:

1) Pick up the nearest book.
2) Open to page 123.
3) Find the fifth sentence.
4) Post the next three sentences.
5) Tag three people, and acknowledge who tagged you.

Thankfully, I have recently been the glad beneficiary of an Amazon giftcard, and actually have some non-library-castoff books to read. And what happened to be nearest me? John Cage’s “Silence,” perched at the edge of my desk, just near the printer… underneath the remains of my coffeecake muffin.

Page 123 yields this portion of Cage’s “Lecture on Nothing,” from 1959:

“More and more                                       I have the feeling          that we are getting
nowhere.                   Slowly                    ,                                   as the talk goes on
,                                we are getting        nowhere                       and that is a pleasure
.                            It is not irritating    to be where one is          .”

In keeping with Rule #5, I’d like to tag “Of Sound Mind,” Kingo at his newly-resurrected “Squublog,” and (because I’ve also been reading R. Murray Schafer’s “The Tuning of the World,”) I’ll tag “Bike Mike.”

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

