Weird similarity

I don’t ordinarily have television, but I overheard a McDonald’s commercial on my father’s tv last week that caught my ear– the accompanying music sounded like a bizarre acapella version of “Kepone Factory” by the Dead Kennedys!

I made a mental note to check this possibility out (-Wesley, -rednecks, if you want to get decent Google results for “Dead Kennedys” AND “McDonalds,” btw)… but didn’t find anything. Luckily, the commercial was popular enough to find its way to YouTube, so I can share it with you!

Turns out that the song used is actually called “Hocus Pocus” and is by the band Focus. Overall, it doesn’t sound much like the Dead Kennedys at all, and is quite irritating.

This is how my brain works– catch the back 5 seconds of a McDonald’s commercial, spend half and hour figuring out exactly which DK song it reminds me of, and then painstakingly research the whole thing a week later.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

