Wordle “cloud” versions of It’s Too Damn Early playlists

Via one of Ralph Lichtensteiger’s posts on the Silence list yesterday, I was introduced to a fun online tool for generating word clouds– Wordle. I’ve generally found tag clouds fairly useless, and an unnecessarily obtuse method for page navigation, but Wordle has a simple interface that lets users enter their own text for the cloud generation… I ended up entering three months worth of playlists, one at a time! My results are below, along with a meta-cloud featuring the entire three months combined, and a final cloud with multiple years worth of my early playlists.

These get a little squished with the blog’s formatting, so click the cloud for the full-size version, okay?

This first cloud is from April 26, 2008. As you can see, I was playing a lot of George Korein’s “Another Corpse” album!

Playlist for 4/26/08

I like the vaguely Greek lettering style for this cloud, from the April 4, 2008 broadcast. It’s fitting, given the conversation I was having with a Greek sound engineer that week about Brekekekexkoaxkoax, so I was amused when this font was randomly selected.

Playlist for 4/4/08

Here is the cloud for the April 12, 2008 broadcast. I’m having fun reading it as a poem: “Everything long, young girl eyesore.” Sounds like my spam filter!

Playlist for 4/12/08

From the April 19, 2008 broadcast… Karthik Kakarala ends up making the cloud without being played on the show– one of the perks of visiting the Hi-Life Room and nearly giving me a heart attack!

Playlist for 4-19-08

This is a good-looking cloud! Very “Times,” don’t you think? I also like the juxtaposition of “station, studio, beehive” in the upper right. How appropriate! Taken from the May 3, 2008 playlist.

Playlist for 5/3/08

I didn’t do much actual liveblogging for the May 17, 2008 broadcast; I’ll let this cloud speak for me. I wish “feral” showed up in more tag clouds…

Playlist for 5/17/08

The May 24, 2008 playlist generated this cloud– it’s funny how the thing I remember most about this broadcast (playing from the Bearly Queen disc near the end of the set) hardly shows up in the cloud. And Bikelophone is huge, haha! If the cloud only knew the Bikelophone track was just a few minutes long, versus BQ’s 18-minute monster…

Playlist for 5/24/08

Wow, I made a lot of these things. I sure hope you like Wordle clouds, ’cause I’m shoving them down your throat. This is made from the June 14, 2008 playlist. Again, it’s very difficult not to read as a poem: “Much nice ITDE sound download / miss work, got birds like cello intertwined.”

Playlist for 6/14/08

Looks like I played some of The Harmful Free Radicals, eh? Made from the June 21, 2008 set.

Playlist for 6/21/08

One day after the previous cloud, I did the June 22, 2008 broadcast— turned in this set, which is quite different in scope.

Playlist for 6/22/08

This was the result of combing all the above playlists, minus common English words. For some reason, this reminds me of Spike Lee’s “Do the Right Thing” movie poster.

Represents playlists from April to June, 2008

Here’s the biggie– many years worth of my playlists… I think I used 2006, 2005, and some from 2003. Entering these in was a pain in the ass, because there was no easy way to get rid of my original +++ used to separate playlist entries. Anyhow, it’s a nice birdseye look at my show’s earlier days. Feel free to leave links to your Wordle clouds in the comments section!

Comprises multiple years worth of early \

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Wordle “cloud” versions of It’s Too Damn Early playlists”

  1. Jonathan Feinberg Says:

    Yay!

Leave a Reply

