Hijacked!

I’ve been hijacked into a “band” of sorts, one of those late-night jokes that somehow becomes reality, mostly due to the ease with which the net makes these things possible. So you’ll forgive me when you find out that the band is named “Cosmic Twilight Pimps”— I had nothing to do with it!

I would have suggested an awesome name like “Muck,” but it’s already taken.

I just found out about the CTP last week, when I accepted their/our friend request. I had to, seeing as how I’m apparently in the group. I left myself a comment, and later got the full story from co-founder (and Sweet Action Radio host) Nick… in a nutshell, CTP seems to encompass whatever random oddmusic made between our respective broadcasts, as well as some 4-track noodling going on in some Carbondale basement.

Did I mention we have a video?

Tom made this one during the ill-fated broadcast of March 8, 2008. I was supposed to have a live guest, but he didn’t arrive, so I was stuck with a studio full of ears on a gradient from fan to foe. Getting folks to come see a live set at 4 AM is no easy feat– and it really hurts the future chances of being able to do so when the musician in question fails to show up!

Naturally, I was pissed. Partly, I was upset because I had no control over the situation, and partly because I was letting so many listeners down. I decided to channel my feelings into something a bit more constructive than pacing, and whipped out a rather bold sound mix using whatever I had, and whatever sounded right at the time.

Tom, a local treasure for his ceaseless work documenting musicians and artists on video, had been well-prepared to do the same for our AWOL musician. In the end, he captured the vast majority of the morning on video… at the time, I couldn’t imagine anything worthwhile coming out of these hours of footage, but I was mistaken. Enjoy this– and be sure to leave Tom a comment, too!

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Hijacked!”

  1. kingo Says:

    Man, that’s nice. That video’s very nicely assembled. I also especially dig the talking toward the end.

Leave a Reply

