Took the words right outta my mouth!

Maurice Garland (XXL mag writer, hip-hop blogger @ The Rezidue) laid out what’s been running through my head for the past week or so– something I wasn’t expecting from his blog, by any means.

To continue, simply substitute “noise artist” every time Garland has written “rapper”.

“We need more dentists. We need more doctors. We need more economists. More truck drivers. More chefs. More store owners. I need a teacher for my unborn child. A rapper? No, I don’t need or want another one of those.

Of course, to some, rapping is merely a hobby. Some people paint, some people build model cars, some people rap. Cool. If thats how you pass your time, do your thing and keep it just that a hobby. But as far as more cats trying to “get on” no, please stop the madness.

Its almost as if rapping has become its own language. Its damn near equivalent to speaking English…because everybody does it. Its like rapping is the 6th Sense. Seeing, Hearing, Touching, Tasting, Smelling….Rapping.

I probably should have set if off in there last night now that I think about it. Giving someone a low score probably didn’t contribute to starting the Rapper Cut-Off Line. Hell, that shit probably got interpreted as “hating.” And you know niggas do with their haters! Make them their motivators, cause they on the grind, son!!!!!

From now on, I think I’m either gonna start throwing shit on stage or come to these showcases with stacks of various job applications. Maybe a couple school applications too. Something to show cats that there are other things that they could be doing and striving for.”

Read Garland’s full entry here.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Took the words right outta my mouth!”

  1. Justin Snow Says:

    Aww, come on. Don’t be hatin.

  2. Matt Weston Says:

    I see his point, but rappers (and hip-hop culture in general) have always been engaged with current events in ways that noise artists rarely, if ever, have — in fact, I often get the sense that a lot of noise artists purposely disengage from any kind of acknowledgment of world events.

    Actually, now that I re-read that, I’d much rather live in a world where rappers (or for that matter, noise artists) outnumber store owners and economists.

Leave a Reply

