John Cage remix

Since 1997, I have maintained a miniature tradition– making some sort of small, improvisational sound recording on the eve of Martin Luther King Jr. Day. I don’t remember how this got started, but it’s one of the few tasks I have managed with any regularity.

This year, I almost forgot. Luckily, a friend reminded me of tomorrow’s holiday, so I decided to take a few moments before midnight to concoct a little something. At first, I toyed around with multiple radio streams. Yesterday’s success with integrating random streams into my show convinced me that this might be worth following up on. Unfortunately, it just wasn’t working out, so I turned to YouTube. My initial idea was to just start up random links, and capture the audio. Within a few moments, however, I decided that a basic theme would be much more interesting– and why not John Cage?

What you will hear is the combined audio output of multiple John Cage-related YouTube uploads, with no regard for their relative volume or content. For the video portion, I searched for a video that was the exact length of my audio file. I decided to pick the first one that was 3′ 36″ long, in this case, someone’s time lapse footage of driving home from work. Somehow, combining the audio collage and video footage resulted in a 3′ 33″ final cut; I am not certain how this occurred.

At any rate, enjoy it. Feel free to leave a comment here, or link to your own John Cage remixes!

One Response to “John Cage remix”

  1. ranjit Says:

    that turned out great! the video goes perfectly, somehow…

    (I came here from the oddmusic list)

Leave a Reply

