My life as a Humannequin

As part of London College of Communication’s “This Is Why We Meet” series of installations; Catarina Chaby, Daniel Camacho, Eleonora D’Acci and Yana Naidenov have created a set of interactive “humannequins” currently living outside an office in London.

Callers to the installation’s Skype address inhabit a humannequin, which allows them to see and hear passers-by with full audio and video feeds in real time. For my part, I chatted with Eleonora (unfortunately butchering her name a couple times before settling on Elly, sorry!) and playing some music as well– The Very Best’s “Warm Heart of Africa,” which is quite high in my personal playlist at the moment. I suggested that we should get a conference call going between the Humannequins and the Telemegaphone Dale, an installation located on top of the Jøtulshaugen mountain overlooking the idyllic Dalsfjord in Western Norway which broadcasts callers from a seven-meter tall loudspeaker array to the village below. It’s not often that a Humannequin can shout from a mountain, is it?

We also discussed the curious ability of so many Londoners to be able to walk right past, without any notice, the unlikely sight of people having a conversation (or a dance, as it were) with a mannequin. I’m guessing this is a big-city phenomenon. Still, I spotted my first English hoodie in the wild; and met “Emma,” my temporary Humannequin spouse. I offered her my umbrella, but she appeared comfortable with her blanket despite the rain, making no effort whatsoever to meet my gaze. We did, however, have a bit of conversation amongst ourselves– possibly our first since meeting, haha.

Calls to the Humannequins are taken between 11 a.m. and 6 p.m., until Sunday, August 16th. Skype to: getalife.thisiswhywemeet to become a Humannequin yourself!

DSC01258-2

Leave a Reply

