Torrents, updates

(Quick note: the torrent files referenced in this post are being replaced with new links. Sorry for any confusion. –DaveX)

Here’s a couple more torrents. As you may have noticed lately, these are not full episodes– I simply can’t get my recording device to reliably function for the duration of the show, so I’ve been just trying to make sure I get the phone-in and guest performances, with a bit of showtime surrounding each. I’ve got my eye on a new Sony S-Series Walkman, which could definitely solve my problem, but this is a purchase for next year. For now, keep your chin up!

8/22/09: Live phone-in set with Ironing. Overall, a pretty darn good show.

8/29/09: Mainly, this broadcast was a bit muddled, but only because I just didn’t seem to have my head about me. Black Beast of Arrrghhh phones in, to the delight of local guests.

As for the titular “update.”I’m back to broadcasting from 4-6:30 a.m., with the introduction of a hip-hop show into the 2-4 a.m. slot. No more 3.5 hour shows! Currently, I’m looking for more phone-in guests, with dates starting in November. I’m also considering some changes to how I handle reviews on STARTLING MONIKER– possibly introducing more short reviews bracketed by a weekly “featured” review/discussion that breaks down an album in greater depth.

With both my younglings now in school, I have quite a bit more time on my hands during the day, so I’ve been trying to figure out good ways to use it without going nuts. However, after nearly 10 years of watching kids, this is a fairly large adjustment for me to make– you’ll have to forgive me for a while as I sort things out. I think I’ll give myself until October to make any big changes at STARTLING MONIKER, and just focus on some early (and much-needed) spring cleaning around the house instead.

One Response to “Torrents, updates”

  1. Karthik Kakarala Says:

    Hopefully, the uncovering of one of my gadgets will help with that cleanup. If anyone deserves to take it easy while restructuring life a bit, it’s you, sir.

Leave a Reply

