mystery tape update

I’m still ripping tapes– just finished number 27 a few moments ago. This has been a truly interesting project. I’ve got the dedicated PC sitting in my garage, so I bop down there every hour or so and change out tapes. Occasionally, I’ll find things in mid-rip, so I put on some headphones to hear what’s going on. Needless to say, I’ve had some interesting aural moments! Last night, I slipped on the headphones just in time to hear Tujiko Noriko whisper “I love you” quietly in my ears. It took me a moment to realize what the heck was going on, and then I had a good laugh. What timing!

I’ve also run into odd moments from my infamous “Ghost Show,” some awesome improvised drones, and some sort of spectacularly failing phone-in interview that I’ve yet to place. I’m going to have to refresh myself on this one– it seems to have involved quite a few people in-studio, but I can’t remember what the exact situation was.

As for the mystery tapes themselves, they’re coming right along. I decided to number the series (there will be 41 total) and scatter them to the wind over a long period of time. I haven’t decided on the exact method yet, but it will probably involve me carrying a tape around everywhere until it just feels right. Some of these are much more strange than others, too! While a good lot of these are “just” straight shows, there are a bunch that document extended improv sessions at WDBX, with little or no identifying information whatsoever.

Leave a Reply

