Updates and a Download OR How I Spent My Weekend

(Quick note: the torrent file referenced in this post is being replaced with a new link. Sorry for any confusion. –DaveX)

Here’s my latest torrent file, for the 10/10/09 broadcast with Matt Weston. I’ve also added some links to the playlist, and finished typing it out fully– you’ll notice the inclusion of Matt Weston’s set and the New Haven Improvisers Collective airplay for their “Inflection” disc. Sometimes, the liveblog has to take one for the team during a broadcast, but I usually catch it up pretty quick when I get back home.

However, my Saturday had other plans. I decided to take the kids to the St. Louis Zoo; so I spent the vast majority of the day tromping around trying to find giraffes, unsuccessfully cajoling a capybara into revealing his mug for my camera, and trying NOT to hit any endangered sharks with my backpack. (Yeah, I’ve done this.)

Later on, I went to the hospital to have my “brush with death,” i.e., some rather alarming chest pain that had me flashing on all those “if you think you’re having a heart attack” PSAs I’ve played in the past. Although it turned out to be a torn/strained muscle at my sternum, I still ended up spending a fair amount of time in the late-night ER, listening to a belligerent drunkard’s attempts to walk on his broken foot. I got a bruised-up arm (IV port, shy veins) and a lidocaine slurpie for my troubles (an intern was more or less running a concurrent examination with the actual doctor, and had become convinced that I had acid reflux, haha) but was otherwise discharged with a clean bill of health at 3 in the morning. It’s not often that I fit an improvisational drummer, a hippo, and an emergency room into one day– but I’m sure there’s a joke in there somewhere.

Here’s DJ Mo at the zoo:

DSC01351-2

Leave a Reply

