CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS

The cat is out of the bag– I announced my annual call for New Year’s submissions just moments ago on the Oddmusic list, so unless you’re a subscriber, you’re already behind the curve. I know, it’s only October; I thought I’d give folks a little bit of time to prepare something extra nice.

I’ve always felt somewhat down around New Year’s, but it wasn’t until 2005 that I decided to make something out of those feelings, by asking artists to send in their “future” recordings:

“As in years past, I am somewhat upset because I have once again failed to receive my personal jet pack. When I was a child, it was more or less promised that by the year 2000, I would not only have a jet pack, but would be partially robotic, vacationing on Mars, eating sea kelp grown by intelligent machine farm workers in the ocean, and living part-time on the Moon. None of these things has happened. In fact, humans have not been back to the moon since I was a child. For all the fascinating and intelligent people in the realm of experimental music that I come in contact with through my radio program and this list, I ask you to please focus on helping to create a healthy and innovative future that we can all look forward to. Without the possibility of an intriguing future, it is hard to dream (or to work towards) better days and a more pleasant life for us all.”

I’m asking again this year– set your time machine for sometime yet to come, and bring us back a recording of that tomorrow. Imagine something startling, new, and worth aiming for. I’m counting on you!

Send your submissions to:

WDBX c/o DaveX’s New Year show
224 N. Washington St.
Carbondale IL 62901 USA

As in years past, I am somewhat upset because I have once again failed to receive my personal jet pack. When I was a child, it was more or less promised that by the year 2000, I would not only have a jet pack, but would be partially robotic, vacationing on Mars, eating sea kelp grown by intelligent machine farm workers in the ocean, and living part-time on the Moon. None of these things has happened. In fact, humans have not been back to the moon since I was a child. For all the fascinating and intelligent people in the realm of experimental music that I come in contact with through my radio program and this list, I ask you to please focus on helping to create a healthy and innovative future that we can all look forward to. Without the possibility of an intriguing future, it is hard to dream (or to work towards) better days and a more pleasant life for us all.

5 Responses to “CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS”

  1. Karthik Kakarala Says:

    For MY future, it’s kind of necessary to give me that kind of notice. I have some dynamite ideas, ¡and one of them might actually be half-workable by “present” me!

  2. Karthik Kakarala Says:

    …this is in addition to what I already owe you. After NoiseFeSTL, I will have extra time to work on such things, music-wise, while two bands that I am supposed to record are dragged back by an equipment issue of the shared member.

  3. startlingmoniker Says:

    Duh, Karthik– just have your time machine drop you off a little bit before you started. But be sure to submit your recording AFTER I ask for them late last night, otherwise I’ll be confused. While you’re cooling your heels, you can work up a duet Solar Shadows performance, and take your extra self to Noise FeSTL.

  4. Brandon Beachum Says:

    if i’m not touring with gorilla heritage at that point, which is sort of up in the air at the moment, i’d love to do a futuristic marathon set, live or by phone. and you can thank me/the mechanical and/or electronic black cloud that has been following me since i was born/mike’s music (for having my bass for a month and not fixing a single thing on it and not being able to even tell me for sure what’s wrong with it) for karthik’s extra time. gah.

  5. Karthik Kakarala Says:

    Hey man, I’m more of the “eccentric inventor accidentally ends up putting together something that travels through time” bit, so I haven’t exactly gotten things too precise, yet. I’m not sure if the point that I keep ending up at in the not-so-far future is this reality or an alternate one. Surely I wouldn’t keep running into an ALTERNATE one… right? Curious…

    So if any of you know anywhere in the 618 phone code region that will fix a bass without letting it sit for weeks…

Leave a Reply

