WDBX DJ Spin Party wrapup

Attendance might have been a little light, but I think the first (hopefully, annual) WDBX DJ Spin Party went very well. I was happy to see so many DJs there, and also to finally see a couple I’d never had the chance to meet before. I am also happy to report that I encountered zero instances of “hooping,” which a late-night Google Images search had convinced me might be possible. An additional bonus was my discovery of “El Paisano,”  a Mexican grocery across the street, fine purveyors of real Coca-Cola– tall glass bottles, cane sugar. Well worth it!

At any rate, it’s always nice to chat with other DJs. Countryman (Rasta Revolution, 2-4pm Friday) has started me on Alpha Blondy as a means of entry to African reggae. Fortuitously, I have several Alpha Blondy mixtapes that I picked up as part of a larger collection some years ago, but had yet to listen to. So far, so good. Sarah (Scratchy Vinyl, 7-9 am Saturday) and I discussed Freddie McCoy and some of the other fun jazz stuff lurking in the vinyl stacks. We tossed around the idea of getting some index cards for the LP sleeves, in order to leave airplay info and track recommendations for one another– and perhaps getting a little “you might like…” box going as well. Jean (Grandma’s Jazz, 10-noon Saturday) showed off her neatly-formatted playlist printouts courtesy of iTunes. It made my Sharpie marker/notebook paper look much less professional, and taught everyone a valuable lesson about age, technology, and irony.

As for my set, it was received with the usual enthusiasm reserved for long Greyhound bus rides, complete with stoic looks of grim determination and furtive nips of alcoholic beverages. There was a distinct thinning of the crowd, but I did notice a few interested listeners. Star Child (4-6 pm Saturday) assured me that getting white people to dance is nearly impossible anyway, and had personally settled for claiming an audience member’s off-rhythm toe tap for his personal victory, so I can’t be too disappointed. Despite our best combined efforts to start a sing-along, I still had to fail everyone present for general lack of enthusiasm and play Little Fyodor’s “Open Up Your Heart (And Let the Sunshine In)” as a means of behavioral correction. Truthfully, I really wanted to play this one anyway– DaveX FTW!

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “WDBX DJ Spin Party wrapup”

  1. Little Fyodor Says:

    Well, let the sunshine in already, gawd DAMMIT, or Babushka’ll kick your ass!!!!! (or mine…..)

  2. startlingmoniker Says:

    Don’t get your trusiki in a bind, Babushka! There’s more Fyodor coming up on tonight’s show!

  3. schwa Says:

    hey, i tried to sing along, but it was too damn hot! also, even though the song was repetitive, i kept forgetting the words.

Leave a Reply

