Happy Birthday, Joseph Fourier!

So… it’s Joseph Fourier‘s birthday. I thought I was the last word in mathematical clumsiness until I read this choice paragraph at Wikipedia:

“Fourier believed that keeping the body wrapped up in blankets was beneficial to the health. He died in 1830 when he tripped and fell down the stairs at his home.”

That’s just messed up, and I don’t know how appropriate it is that I find it so funny. He’s like the ultimate pitchman for Snuggies! At any rate, when you’re comfortably seated today, raise your glass to very smart, clumsy man who gave the world complicated math stuff and the concept of the greenhouse effect.

And while you’re feeling smarter than the average 19th century mathematician for keeping your paws planted firmly on the floor, be sure to download a copy of my daughter’s latest radio show, Style City.

“Ah, now we’re getting to the meat of things,” you say. “I knew that DaveX couldn’t focus on math stuff for long!”

Yes, it’s true. After I mercilessly mocked a beloved French intellectual’s bumbling death-by-blanket, I’ve gone and employed him– the switch to my bait! It’s terribly crass, but what’s done is done. Fire up your favorite torrent application, and enjoy STYLE CITY!

Leave a Reply

