Wrapup for 5/12/13

It’s nearing the end of the day, so I thought I’d make a quick appearance on Startling Moniker, and type to those few remaining readers with stalwart hearts and barren calendars. I suppose I hadn’t mentioned it, but I did make it through the transformation between “interim manager” and “station manager” proper. For what it’s worth, WDBX-FM is now under my care. It’s a big job, with lots and lots of small moving parts. I’m pleased to have a job that has positive and concrete effects on the world– it’s a good mix of activism, organizing, art, and thinking off the top of your head– it’s a wonder I’d have never guessed I’d be doing this someday.

As I mentioned in another entry, I’ve also gone back to college. I started last summer, and have one semester remaining. Everything went well this semester, including my independent study, which was a re-boot of “Sounds Like Radio.” For the “pilot” I interviewed Frank Rothkamm, whose work I perceive as fascinating, but near-inexplicable. After our talk, I can’t claim to fully “get it,” but I think I am finally getting some footholds on the material, and definitely a better sense of how to approach things. Although I’ve liked the space that two hours of “Sounds Like Radio” affords, I’ve re-envisioned it as an hour-long program– two hours is a lot to produce on a weekly basis, so I’ve unfortunately ended up with some weak broadcasts. The music is always good, but I feel like I haven’t been able to tie things together well enough. Between working and being a student, there’s just not enough time to do it properly. That being said, I’m quite excited about the hour-long format. I’ll definitely let you all know when the pilot airs– this probably won’t be for a couple months, though. In a college town, there’s not much use in bringing out new programming in summer.

I turned 35 this past month. No adventure was had this year, which was unfortunate. I’m not certain I really even did much to celebrate– I did buy a few new records. In truth, depression continues to take a heavy toll on me. I have good days and bad, and while I’ve gotten better at anticipating and working around it, the self-loathing and doubt have similarly stepped up their efforts. It’s hard to imagine needing to deal with this for the rest of my life, but that certainly seems to be the case. In the meantime, I’ve decided to use this summer as a convenient chronological excuse for getting in better shape. I’ve noticed that exercise seems to help even things out, so what the hell– even though I’d rather read a book, it seems I’m going to be taking a lot of walks, drinking water, etc. I say this with a Coca-Cola in front of me– there’s still 56 minutes left in this day, right? Anyways, yes, this is a total momblog post. Sorry about that. Random stuff, needs to be said, blah blah blah. Since you were all so kind to read it, here’s something awesome to dig on:

3 Responses to “Wrapup for 5/12/13”

  1. DJ Shad (@djshadstl) Says:

    Hello Dave, It’s Dj Shad. I was searching my name in Google and I saw your post. I appreciate your kind words. Feel Free to contact me at djshadstlpromo@gmail.com.

  2. Kingo Sleemer (@kingosleemer) Says:

    Hope everything is going well Mr.DaveX. we all vanish into the tiny holes in the wood, surfacing only rarely. It is some strange network off which we are a part.

  3. Kingo Sleemer (@kingosleemer) Says:

    And congratulations, was my original point, left unmade

Leave a Reply

