Paradox, edges

Going into campus studio tonight with pretty much my full-on noise setup. Recording for a final audio project– and of course, I’ve got the awful case of “senior-itus” and just want to get things knocked out, out of the way, etc. However, I partly came back to college for these sorts of opportunities– looking in from the outside at all that cool gear, interesting connections… That wasn’t much fun. So, I’m also trying to honor the experience. Half of me wants to step back, let unintentional connections and “happenings” occur– the sort of micro-minutiae that create the greatest detail, letting the universe speak, as it were. The rest of me is “grand statement” and “don’t disappear.” I’m hoping to find a way to let both of these impulses breathe. For now, I’ve settled on splitting things down the middle. In the recording process, I’ll step out of the way. Let the tape run. Create situations and see what happens. I’m toying with the idea of recording with extremely high volumes and ridiculous amounts of gain, so that I have no ability to disregard even the smallest movement. I’m also returning to the setup I used at the last Noise Summit– an unwieldy mess of interconnected cables, mixers, and amplification. It’s impossible to control, given its condition and ongoing abuse. I’m looking forward to hearing it belch forth from the bowels of campus!

The editing and mastering process will be an entirely different matter. I do intend to come forward at this stage, and show my hand. I’d prefer to be working in a different set of software, but I’m confident that the campus setup will allow me to get precise with things. I’d like to stay away from processing for the most part, but I am very interested in placement. But more on that later– I’ll update your tomorrow with how recording goes tonight!

Leave a Reply

