Recording update, Paradox/edges

Things went well in the studio last night! Although it started off rocky, with some ProTools related setup nonsense slowing the start down– and seriously, I’m really disliking the Mac environment– the recording session was solid. I had to chat up some of my older gear into functioning again, but that’s hardly my first go-around with the iffy lifespan of circuit-bent instruments. Everything was much more controlled than I would have guessed, so some of my plans to allow for the unintentional (there’s paradox for you) did not quite come off. On the other hand, some chance readings from various novels did prove interesting, especially a bit from Knut Hamsen’s novel Hunger– 

“I was fearfully confused. I absolutely did not know if I were on my head or my heels. This creature upset all my chain of reasoning; turned it topsy-turvy. I was bewitched and extraordinarily happy. It seemed to me as if I were being dragged enchantingly to destruction. She had expressly willed to go back; it wasn’t my notion, it was her own desire. I walk on and look at her, and get more and more bold. She encourages me, draws me to her by each word she speaks. I forget for a moment my poverty, my humble position, my whole miserable condition. I feel my blood course madly through my whole body, as in the days before I caved in, and resolved to feel my way by a little ruse.”

My recording uses a slightly different text, but it’s still a good place to start!

Leave a Reply

