“New” vinyl detritus

Record Store Day came and went– took the Weasel down to the local, and let him pull records for me from the cheap bin. He ended up finding me some fun stuff. I recommend this! Kids won’t try to hipster you into (or out of) an LP, so you end up with all sorts of random picks! Here’s a few:

3 Responses to ““New” vinyl detritus”

  1. Sonney Dey Says:

    DaveX the vinyl hunting has been slow for me. The rash of premature baby boomer deaths back in the 2003 – ’09 era were my last big frenzy of Goodwill and Salvation Army scores. For now the healthy survive and are clinging to their 45s and 33s, or keeping it because of on-line blurbs about the comeback of vinyl.

    This is the only thing I’ve picked up this year back in February, and puts me at 1,384 LPs and 45s in all. It totally got out of hand, and I really need to dump some of the crap like the JFK speeches and dupes of the Herb Alpert “Whipped Cream, And Other Delights” and other garbage and get down to a more sane collection. I wanted to vomit when I did a big shifting of records recently and seen I have maybe 10 -12 Al Jolson LPs– what was I thinking… crap they gotta go for free in a clandestine nighttime dump at the Goodwill, where maybe some poor soul that gets their rocks off to “Rock-a-by My Baby To a Sweet Dixie Melody” will be made a happy camper.

    Anyway, here’s my latest get> http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CFEQFjAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Fen.wikipedia.org%2Fwiki%2FAll_I_Ever_Need_Is_You_(1971_Sonny_%2526_Cher_album)&ei=6CFdU5i8EoHm2AWxooHoDw&usg=AFQjCNFzfw4-eF3PKcztVuX-JGVyAVWV6g&bvm=bv.65397613,d.b2I

  2. startlingmoniker Says:

    I wonder if I didn’t see you the other day– or perhaps your doppelgänger. I was en route past the Target, and saw someone with an older record in a plastic bag. I can only assume they’d gotten it from the record store in the mall, which does seem to have SOME used LPs on hand. Poked my head in once, but the prices were a bit crazy for me. I’ve actually got that same Sonny and Cher album, too. Last year, I dumped about 250 albums out of my collection. Mostly stuff that was damaged in some way, but I’d considered passable when I was younger. I’m never going to have one of those mint collections, but I did need to get some of the more obvious crud OUT.

  3. I’m back! (A Quick-Start Guide to DaveX) | Startling Moniker Says:

    […] music, each with a focus on active listening. I have two children, “Mo” and “The Weasel.” I manage a small community radio station that is not unlike running The Muppet Show. I have […]

Leave a Reply

