I’m back! (A Quick-Start Guide to DaveX)

Sorry for the gigantic delay. My last post of merit was written one year, six months, and nine days ago! To say that things have been a little rough is an understatement. Since that time, I have graduated from university, accepted a full-time position managing a community radio station, and gotten divorced. I’ve had more than a few close encounters with my depression, and have been just about as low (off and on) as I ever hope I’ll get. I’ve assured myself that it’s a terribly boring story, so I’m going to quickly skip you to the present with a handy “quick-start” guide:

I’m DaveX. I’ve been interested in sound for as long as I can remember, but I didn’t always know it. I’ve hosted numerous radio programs featuring experimental music, each with a focus on active listening. I have two children, “Mo” and “The Weasel.” I manage a small community radio station that is not unlike running The Muppet Show. I have problems with depression, but I’m still hopeful. I enjoy collecting records and tapes, reading, and circuit-bending. I make noisy things (and sometimes, I sell them!) I’m a vegetarian. I like comic books, photobooths, and kung-fu movies. Dee Snider saved my life, and I will happily read your John Cage fan-fiction.

This week, I’m on vacation from work, so I’m going to be getting back into blogging. To kick things off, I’ve uploaded my latest episode of “Music For Swimmers” to SoundCloud. You can listen to it online, or download the files. Ordinarily, this is a one-hour program, but Mo was sick today, so it’s closer to 2 hours and 15 minutes. The playlist is below– enjoy!

“Music For Swimmers” 11/15/15

Brian Chase “Feedback Drone” on Pogus Productions
Ross Bolleter “Piano Dreaming” on Pogus
Enzo Minarelli “The Weak Suits” on Pogus
RP Collier “Scum For DaveX” on RP Collier
Richard Pinhas “Efrim” on Cuneiform Records
Tony Youngblood “Light Has A Universal Meaning”
Tony Youngblood “Moderate Stimulation”
Tri Atma “Natural Loving” on Higher Octave Music
Tony Youngblood “Different Voices, Different Worlds”
Preston Ari Swirnoff “Maariv 1” on Last Visible Dog
César Bolaños “Sialoecibi, ESEPCO I” on Pogus
John Lennon, Yoko Ono “Two Virgins No. 1” on Negram
Leif Elggren “Soya” on Bananafish
OiMa “Brushman” on OiMa
OiMa “Prayer Wheel” on OiMa
Mooey Moobau “Love Bloody Love Food Sewer Food” on vosotros
Alok “Pool Weakness” on Lona Records
Oval “Standard Audio Frontend” on Thrill Jockey Records
Kiyoshi Mizutani, Hideaki Shimada & Kiyoharu Kuwayama “Chimere 1” on Monochrome Vision
Martin Denny “Quiet Village” on EMI Capitol
The Evolution Control Committee “hello” on Seeland
Steamboat Switzerland “VI” on Grob
Anaphylaxis “all yours” on Parasomnic Records/Mannequin Oddio
Pitz “Motet 6” on Oktadka
Pitz “Motet 7” on Oktadka
Anders Ostberg “Futuristic Experimental Music” on Chain Tape Collective
Chica X “Kickin The Kittens” on Nail In The Coffin
George Korein and the Spleen “There Must Be Somewhere” on George Korein
Tuft “Bathory” on Medusa Head Records
John Morton “Amazing Grace Variations” on Innova
Marcelo Radulovich “Turn On the Phone” on Titicacaman Records
Kanito “3” on NoType
Celluloid Mata “Convex” on ant-zen
Electropolis “Sailing The Flat Earth” on Innova
@c “77(1)” on Monochrome Vision
Kid Koala “Drunk Trumpet” on Ninja Tune
Tom Nunn “Skatchmat” on Edgetone Records
Matt Weston “Holler” on 7272music
Juppala Kaapio “Kagami Hebi (Mirror Snake)” on Last Visible Dog
Massimo Falascone & Bob Marsh “In Your Dreams” on Eh?
Loachfillet “Hell” on Resipiscent
Uladat “Guerra” on Black Tropical Records
Noah Creshevsky & If, Bwana “Cicada #4: Version Barnard” on Pogus Productions
Kenneth Gaburo “For Harry” on Pogus
Z’ev & Bob Bellerue “Felt, If Not Seen” on Phage Tapes

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

