Koit H. Püss (1929-?)

Today, I was a library beast. I went over to Morris Library on the SIUC campus, as I have been meaning to do for some time now, and did some digging for a book of Soviet poster art I had come across back in the 90s. I’m happy to say that my elementary school library training came in handy, and I was about to locate it! Check out Morris Library’s badass Diagon Alley bookshelves, and tell me they’re not goddamn magical.

According to “The Soviet Political Poster: 1917-1980,” Koit Hansovich Püss was born in 1929, and lived the later part of his life in Moscow. In 1954, he graduated from the Estonian Art Institute in Tallinn. From the early 1950s onwards, he was active as a poster designer, graphic artist and monumental painter.

The internet is little help in finding more detail about him, so I’ve gathered pictures of the four posters I’ve learned about so far. As you can see, one of them is rather special to STARTLING MONIKER, for what would we do without our little cow mascot, Malty?

koit 1koit 2koit 3

From left to right, the posters are from 1963, 1965, and 1966. The first says “MORE!” and the last says “Children all over the world need peace.” The fourth poster says “Wait ’til I grow up!” and is from 1963. After discovering the artist’s name, I was able to find one image of it online, at Getty Images. Apparently, Getty Images thinks they can just take a picture of someone else’s art, and license it for hundreds of dollars, go fig. I think Getty can go fuck themselves, because I took my own photo of his art, and I’ll let you do whatever you want with it, at least until Mr. Püss asks us to stop.

maltymalty

 

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

